Anna Maria Fuentes Scholarship

Merced County Association of Governments (MCAG) Governing Board and staff established the Anna Maria Fuentes Scholarship program in memory and tribute to Anna Maria Fuentes, Grants Program Manager, colleague, and friend.

The scholarship will be awarded by the MCAG Governing Board in the amount of $1,000. Recipients may receive additional annual awards of up to $1,000 for three years, or until their degree is achieved, whichever is less. The cumulative maximum is $4,000. Submission of annual scholastic documentation may be required by MCAG.

Eligibility Criteria

Graduating high school senior from a high school in Merced County with a grade point average of 3.8 or higher (4.0  equals A) who has demonstrated a high level of participation in extracurricular activities including positions of leadership and a need for the scholarship.

Amount to be awarded may vary each year; however, the annual maximum scholarship amount is $1,000 with a cumulative maximum of $4,000 per student. Students requesting to continue their award must maintain full-time enrollment and a 3.0 grade point average based on a 4.0 scale.


The 2020 Anna Maria Fuentes Scholarship application was due Friday, February 28, 2020. MCAG received 51 applications, 45 of which met the minimum qualifications by the closing deadline. The MCAG Governing Board appointed Harleen Thandi from Livingston High the 2020 Anna Maria Fuentes Scholarship recipient at the April Governing Board meeting. 

General inquiries may be directed to Eva Garibay, Public Program Specialist II via email at or by phone at                   209-723-3153, ext. 108.

 Congratulations to Previous Recipients:

  • 2010 Ricky Sahota
  • 2011 Ikneet Kandola
  • 2012 Gurjit Kaur
  • 2013 Qixuan Zhang
  • 2014 Marilyn Perez-Mendoza
  • 2015 Crystal Gutierrez
  • 2016 Joseph Booth
  • 2017 Steven Yeung
  • 2018 Yadira Hernandez-Figueroa
  • 2019 Reema Chaudry