Planning & Programming

Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Every two years, the California Transportation Commission (CTC) adopts a new Fund Estimate, which comprises of anticipated Federal and State revenues for the next five years. 

Federal Transportation Improvement Program

MCAG is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Merced region. In that capacity, MCAG is required by federal law to prepare a Federal Transportation Improvement Program (FTIP) to indicate how the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) will be implemented.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)/Census Data

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) allows us to view, understand, question, interpret, and visualize data in many ways that reveal relationships, patterns, and trends in the form of maps, reports and charts. As the affiliate of the State Data Center for Merced County, Merced County Association of Governments (MCAG) maintains and distributes information primarily from the Census Bureau and the California Department of Finance.  

Ride Sharing: DIBS and CalVans

The goal of these programs is to improve air quality, public health, and roadway operations by promoting Smart Travel solutions such as carpooling, vanpooling, riding transit, biking, and walking.


The San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority is comprised of ten member agencies which includes the San Joaquin Regional Rail Commission, Sacramento Regional Transit, Stanislaus Council of Governments, Merced County Association of Governments, Contra Costa Transportation Authority, Tulare County Association of Governments, Madera County Transportation Commission, Alameda County, Fresno Council of Governments, and the Kings County Association of Governments. 

Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality  

Congestion Mitigation Air Quality (CMAQ) is a federal program, whose primary goals are to improve air quality and reduce congestion. CMAQ provides funding for transportation projects or programs that will contribute to attainment or maintenance of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards for ozone, carbon dioxide, and particulate matter (both PM10 and PM2.5).