Regional Early Action Planning

REgional Early Action Planning 

The Regional Early Action Planning (REAP) program is a state of California funded grant program to help regions and jurisdictions with planning activities to meet the sixth cycle of the regional housing needs assessment (RHNA) and to spur affordable housing production. This program is being implemented by the state in two rounds – REAP 1.0 and REAP 2.0.

REAP 1.0

REAP 1.0 provided an initial round of $125 million in flexible planning funds to regional governments to accelerate housing production and facilitate compliance with the 6th cycle of the housing element, including regional housing need allocations. Nearly $19 million in grant funds was made available to the San Joaquin Valley for housing planning activities through 2023. These funds were allocated to two uses: valleywide activities and direct allocations to each of the eight transportation planning agencies. MCAG’s share of these funds is $1,008,343. 

The valleywide activities are governing by the San Joaquin Valley Regional Early Action Committee for Housing (SJV REAP Committee), created by statue, which consists of 24 members of the San Joaquin Valley regional planning agencies, cities, counties and community members.  The valleywide work program consists of two major components: 

  1. Valleywide Work Efforts – Conducting a comprehensive housing report, regional planning and coordination, program implementation, technical assistance, and other activities as stated in the application for funding.
  2. Formula Allocations to the 8 Valley COGS – MCAG is utilizing these funds for the 6th Cycle RHNA (regional housing needs assessment) and is working with local governments to develop programs and projects to accelerate housing production in a way that aligns with state planning priorities, housing, transportation, equity, and climate goals. REAP 1.0 funds cannot be used for housing construction activities. 

For more information:

Working Group Meetings

Meeting DateAgendaRelated Materials

REAP 2.0

REAP 2.0 brings $600 million of additional state and federal funds to the program statewide as it seeks to accelerate progress towards our state housing goals and climate commitments through a strengthened partnership between the state, its regions, and local entities to collectively accelerate infill development, housing, and VMT reductions in ways that advance equity. The intended purpose is to advance implementation of adopted regional plans by funding planning and implementation activities that accelerate infill housing and reductions in per capita VMT. MCAG is slated to receive nearly $4 million of grant funds from REAP 2.0.

REAP 2.0 is also specifically designed to provide Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) with tools and resources to help implement and advance plans, primarily including sustainable communities strategies (SCS) as part of Regional Transportation Plans (RTP). An SCS identifies strategies a region intends to pursue towards achieving and maintaining greenhouse gas (GHG) per capita reduction targets through changes to land use and transportation.

REAP 2.0 is also intended to help the state meet its climate commitments and housing production and affordability goals. REAP 2.0 responds to the recognition that California is not currently on track to meet the state’s climate and housing commitments, often measured by the continued dependence on vehicular travel and forecasted VMT growth. 

The purpose of REAP 2.0 is supporting transformative planning and implementation activities that include, but are not limited to, accelerating infill and affordable development; supporting residents through realizing multimodal communities; shifting travel behavior through reducing driving; and increasing transit ridership, walking, and biking as primary modes of transportation.

For more information:


Kern County   Kings County   Fresno County   Madera County
Supervisor Zack Scrivner, County of Kern (County Rep. and Kern COG Board Member)   Supervisor Doug Verboon, County of Kings (County Rep. and KCAG Board Member)   Supervisor Steve Brandau, County of Fresno (County Rep)   Supervisor Robert Poythress, County of Madera (County Rep. and MCTC Board Member)
Councilmember Bob Smith, City of Bakersfield (Large City Rep. and Chairman of Kern COG)   Vice-Mayor Diane Sharp, City of Hanford (Large City Rep.)   Mayor Lee Brand, City of Fresno (Large City Representative and Fresno COG Board Member)   Mayor Santos Garcia, City of Madera (Large City Rep.)
Councilmember Cathy Prout, City of Shafter (Small City Rep.)   Mayor Alvaro Preciado, City of Avenal (Small City Rep.)   CHAIR – Vice Mayor Gary Yep, City of Kerman (Small City Representative and Fresno COG Board Member)   Council Member Diana Palmer, City of Chowchilla (Small City Rep.)
Merced County   San Joaquin County   Stanislaus County   Tulare County
VICE CHAIR – Supervisor Lloyd Pareira, County of Merced (County Rep. and MCAG Board Member)   Supervisor Chuck Winn, County of San Joaquin (County Rep. and SJ COG Board Member)   Supervisor Vito Chiesa, County of Stanislaus (County Rep. and StanCOG Board Member)   Supervisor Eddie Valero, County of Tulare (County Rep. and TCAG Board Member)
Mayor Matt Serratto, City of Merced (Large City Representative)   Vice Mayor Dan Wright, City of Stockton (Large City Rep.)   Bill O’Brien, private citizen representing Larger City (formerly served County BOS, StanCOG Board and SJV Policy Council)   Councilmember Frankie Alves, City of Exeter (Small City Rep.)
Mayor April Hogue, City of Dos Palos (Small City Representative)   Councilmember Gary Singh, City of Manteca (Small City Rep.)   Anthony Canella, private citizen representing Small Cities (former Senator)   Mayor Martha Flores, City of Porterville (Large City Rep.)